EMCOG was established in 1968 as a multi-purpose, multi-county organization designed to pool resources for the assistance of local governments in the east central region of Michigan. EMCOG serves the regional community of Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Midland, Ogemaw, Roscommon, Saginaw, Sanilac and Tuscola and the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan. Membership is voluntary. EMCOG is a U. S. Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration Economic Development District (EDD). We assist member cities, townships and counties in the areas of grant writing, community surveys, land use planning, recreation planning, economic and community development, transportation, hazard mitigation planning and building and maintaining geographic information.


Sue Fortune, Executive Director
Email: sfortune@emcog.org
East Michigan Council of Governments
3144 Davenport Avenue
Suite 200
Saginaw, MI 48602